Summary of “Playful or Gameful? Creating Delightful UX”

Standard

I’ve kicked off the term in the usual way, which is to say I signed up for an early presentation slot for my UX research course. My experience in technical writing is arguably what got me really interested in usability and user-centered design, so I’m thrilled to have the chance to dig into it further in my LIS degree. As an added bonus, my presentation focuses on playfulness and gamification in design, which is a topic I find quite engaging and rife with potential.

My presentation is a summary of the article “Playful or Gameful? Creating Delightful UX“. This articles provides an introduction to the PLEX (Playful Experience) framework and its development. The team behind the PLEX framework has published a more detailed account of their testing process. It’s an interesting read.

If you’re short on time, of course, you could always just skim my lazy/pretty Prezi presentation. If nothing else, I strongly recommend you check out the Extra Credits team’s Design Club video on Super Mario Bros level 1-1; it’s a fantastic breakdown of integrative game design elements with a real focus on the user experience aspect.

Leave a comment